„Don’t Stop Thinking!“,

2018


The exhibition “Don’t Stop Thinking!” offers insight into the complex work of the architect Joost Meuwissen, inviting and inspiring us to take a different perspective on the everyday things in our cities. Joost Meuwissen was always thinking outside the box, continually lending unexpected importance to the seemingly banal, viewing projects and plans from different vantage points, and endeavoring to give them theoretical legitimacy. Theory and practice as a single entity: “Practice is theory!” To him it was important to “… be able to think about theory in the design process, instead of, as usual, ceasing thought altogether once the drawing begins.”

Over the past 30 years, Joost Meuwissen (1950–2016) was an outstanding and perpetually nonconformist thinker in the fields of architecture and urban planning. His most impressive work—including a remarkable abundance of texts, drawings, projects, lectures, interviews, but also radio broadcasts and television shows—will continue to enrich the space of discourse. His unconventional, poetic, and extremely precise verbalizations are both challenge and provocation for the current state of architectural discourse.

Meuwissen studied architecture in Delft, earned his doctorate in Eindhoven, and worked in Amsterdam as an architect, critic, and also as editor-in-chief of the magazine Wiederhall. His teaching activity took him to various educational institutions in the Netherlands and then to the University of Karlsruhe. As of 1995, he taught at Graz University of Technology after a stop at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. 

The exhibition “Don’t Stop Thinking!” is a spatial compilation of selected projects, drawings, texts, and film, including never before seen documents from the archive, supplemented by the artwork of the painter Marian Plug, who constantly accompanied the work of Joost Meuwissen.

Special thanks are extended to Marian Plug and Meredith Plug for the loans and also for providing access to the archive.

The video material was made available by Wolfgang Dokonal (TU Graz), Mies TV, and HDA Graz.


Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA




AddressHDA Graz, Mariahilferstraße 2, 8020 Graz
CuratorsHeidi Pretterhofer, Michael Rieper, Mathieu Wellner
DesignHeidi Pretterhofer, Michael Rieper
Graphic DesignMartin Embacher, Madlyn Miessgang, Helene Schauer
Duration23rd of March to 22nd of April
Opening hoursTuesday–Sunday 10:00–18:00
SupportAtelier Thomas Pucher, LOVE architecture and urbanism, SHARE architects, Stoiser Wallmüller Architekten, Bernd Vlay
In cooperation withTU Graz
Linkshda-graz.at
www.facebook.com/events/1710328525694110
www.park-books.com
www.joostmeuwissen.nl
Type , , ,
MVD , , ,
Tags

„Don’t Stop Thinking!“,

2018


Die Ausstellung „Don’t Stop Thinking!“ bietet Einblicke in das komplexe Werk des Architekten Joost Meuwissen und ist Aufforderung und Inspiration, die alltäglichen Dinge unserer Städte aus einer anderen Perspektive zu betrachten. Joost Meuwissen hat stets um die Ecke gedacht, hat unablässig dem scheinbar Banalen eine unerwartete Wichtigkeit gegeben, hat Projekte und Planungen aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln betrachtet und versucht sie theoretisch zu legitimieren. Theorie und Praxis als Einheit: „Practice is theory!“ Ihm war wichtig „… die Theorie im Entwurf denken zu können, statt wie üblich, mit dem Denken ganz aufzuhören, wenn man zu zeichnen anfängt.“

Joost Meuwissen (1950–2016) war in den letzten 30 Jahren für die Fachgebiete Architektur und Stadtplanung ein herausragender und immer unangepasster Denker. Sein imposantes Werk, es umfasst eine beachtliche Fülle an Texten, Zeichnungen, Projekten, Vorträgen, Interviews, aber auch Radio- und TV Sendungen, soll weiterhin den Diskursraum bereichern. Seine unkonventionellen, poetischen und äußerst präzisen Formulierungen sind eine Herausforderung und Provokation für den Ist-Zustand des Architekturdiskurses.

Meuwissen studierte Architektur in Delft, promovierte in Eindhoven und arbeitete in Amsterdam als Architekt, Kritiker und Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift Wiederhall. Seine Lehrtätigkeit führte ihn über verschiedene Institutionen in den Niederlanden an die Universität in Karlsruhe, dann ab 1995 an die TU Graz mit einem Zwischenstopp an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien.

Die Ausstellung „Don’t Stop Thinking!“ ist eine räumliche Zusammenstellung ausgewählter Projekte, Zeichnungen, Texte und Filme, teilweise mit noch nie gezeigten Dokumenten aus dem Archiv, ergänzt mit Werken der Malerin Marian Plug, die das Schaffen von Joost Meuwissen permanent begleitet hat.

Mit besonderem Dank an Marian Plug und Meredith Plug für die Leihgaben und den Zugang zum Archiv.
Das Videomaterial wurde zur Verfügung gestellt von Wolfgang Dokonal (TU Graz), Mies TV und HDA Graz.

Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA
Thomas Raggam-HDA




AdresseHDA Graz, Mariahilferstraße 2, 8020 Graz
Kuratorin und KuratorenHeidi Pretterhofer, Michael Rieper, Mathieu Wellner
GestaltungHeidi Pretterhofer, Michael Rieper
Grafische GestaltungMartin Embacher, Madlyn Miessgang, Helene Schauer
Ausstellungsdauer23. März – 22. April 2018
ÖffnungszeitenDi.–So. 10–18 Uhr
Mit Unterstützung vonAtelier Thomas Pucher, LOVE architecture and urbanism, SHARE architects, Stoiser Wallmüller Architekten, Bernd Vlay
In Kooperation mitTU Graz
Linkshda-graz.at
www.facebook.com/events/1710328525694110
www.park-books.com
www.joostmeuwissen.nl
TypArchitektur, Ausstellung, Ausstellung, Design
MVD , , ,
Schlagworte